Casey James Stops by CMT’s Southern Fried Flicks with Hazel Smith

Casey James was the special guest tonight of CMT’s Hazel Smith, host of the channel’s popular Southern Fried Flicks show.

Casey visited, chatted and ate in between segments of a televised movie. Casey, who famously likes nearly every type of food, came face-to-face with one of the few he doesn’t care for — the dreaded beet. He swapped them with Hazel. They also talked about where Casey grew up, how he ended up on American Idol, and what he’s been doing musically since then.

At the end of the show Hazel said that Casey would be a big star. But Casey just shrugged off the complimentary prediction, humbly responding “As long as I get to keep playing and singing, I’ll be all right.”

For those who don’t get CMT, have no fear Casey’s segment will soon be available for viewing on the CMT website. Until then, here’s all 5 of the segments as recorded off my television.

About Shari

Creator and Administrator of The Casey James Blog.
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Casey James Stops by CMT’s Southern Fried Flicks with Hazel Smith

  1. MNPeach says:

    Oh, this is wonderful! I’ve never heard of this lady before, but I LOVE her!

  2. jennifer bussone says:

    Holy smokes this made me smile so big and laugh so hard!! So many things I love about this. First Casey says “yes m’am” when speaking to Hazel. Second, when she says I’m sittin’ here with the prettiest thing I have seen in a long time I cracked up!! And I think my favorite part was about how THERE IS NO MARGARINE IN HAZEL’S KITCHEN! I think I love this woman. πŸ˜‰ Great job, Casey! Not a bad gig, huh? You got to eat some southern cooking and everything! πŸ™‚ Loved this! Thanks for the smile today πŸ™‚

  3. Laura says:

    Did she really ask him if he wanted desert? HAHAHAHA!!!!! (Guess she didn’t hear that Casey and food = good combo!) This was a great piece!!!

  4. justjesssmom says:

    Ditto to everything everyone above said! and a huge THANK YOU for posting these on here. MADE MY DAY!

  5. Bybee D James says:

    I LOVED this! Casey told me he was going to do this but I didn’t quite understand what it was. Now I do and that Hazel is adorable. She might be my Aunt!! Casey really enjoyed that..I could tell. In the Southern home, the kitchen is the main room of the house!

    • Rhonda Nelson says:

      Debra,
      One of the things most evident in these clips was that Casey James was well raised-always so respectful and polite. In one of the clips from last week, he asked for a bottle of water before a performance & then said-“my Mom would be mad that I didn’t get up & get it myself” Kudos Debra!! We could all take a lesson from you.

      • Sandra says:

        I agree…. I love how he is so polite to who ever he is talking to….
        you did great Debra…
        I have 2 sons and I know how they can be.. my sons are so wonderful also.

    • Cyndee says:

      He just oughta do talk shows whenever he can! He’s so good at them! There are times when he’s doing a radio interview and one would wonder which was the radio personality because Casey is so comfortable!

      • Gail V. says:

        Being from TN I am very familiar with Hazel and there has been many country singers set in her kitchen. She has been involved with the Nashville stars for years. I was aware of her reputation for flirting and her general lively personality. I love to hear Casey do these live interviews, he can hold his own with any of them. I think that Hazel would be the first to tell you that Casey is most definitely a Southern gentlemen. It was a real joy to watch this. πŸ™‚

  6. Jeanette says:

    Adorable – Casey and Hazel. My first time to see her show – love it! So good to see that he is getting so many opportunities to be in the public eye.

  7. Pingback: Casey James ~ Weekly Recap ending Dec. 3rd, 2011 | The Casey James Blog

  8. Pingback: Casey James ~ Weekly Recap ending Dec. 3rd, 2011 | The Casey James Blog

  9. I can’t wait for the video to see the beet swapping. Hazel just puts it right out there.. even if it embarrassed Casey a little. They are both so cute! Casey was enjoying dessert so much he had a hard time getting a word out. Love Casey’s response to her pronouncement of him being a huge star , As long as I can play and sing, I will be fine. Humble is a word that fits Casey well.

  10. Cyndee says:

    That was purely Southern fried FUN! He needs to do more talk shows. He does so well with them!! Just thinkin’ …

  11. Tracy Scott says:

    I could sit and listen to Casey talk all day-about anything!!! He is such a Southern Gentleman!

  12. Ellen says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE! Hazel and Casey should take it on the road- Hazel cooks, Casey eats and they both just talk. (Well I wouldn’t mind if Casey snuck in a tune or two!)

  13. LucyM says:

    Guess what? I just watched the clip, Hazel and Casey on the CMT channel. It was short but it was fun to watch him!!!! ❀

  14. DARLA says:

    Seriously….cutest thing ever! I love Hazil and how sweet was Casey to her! LOVED IT! Thanks for sharing y’all!

  15. Jeanette says:

    Casey was quick to move the beets to Hazel’s plate. He has ousted beets before. I have enjoyed all of these videos. Fun stuff.

  16. cynyn says:

    OMG so funny to watch that, Casey just rolls with it doesn’t he? He’s such a joy, so confident and relaxed. Good with the come backs, great wit.

  17. Dallas says:

    Great segments. Loved watching them and hearing the candid comments. Thanks for taping it 

  18. Karen says:

    Really cute videos of Hazel and Casey in the kitchen! He must have loved being able to eat all kinds of good food and it was so funny how fast Casey transferred those beets over to Hazel’s plate – lol! Enjoy seeing him in these kind of shows and hope to see more!

Leave a Reply

