Casey James Article in “Your Parker County”

 Casey James is featured in the 2011-2012 issue of “Your Parker County”, published by his hometown newspaper The Community News.  The article, based on an interview conducted just before his set at Billy Bob’s in July, discusses Casey’s musical upbringing, his near-fatal motorcycle accident, and the passion for music that drives him.

The following is an excerpt from the article.  You can read the full article here, on pages 34-36.

When he was asked what inspired or motivated him to continue playing the guitar when doctors told him he could not, Casey replied that “It was not an option.”

“Think about all the amazing people and all the crazy things like going to the moon. I guarantee you anybody who said ‘I’m going to the moon,’ everybody would have said, ‘you’re crazy.’”

“You just do it – you make a way. It was not an option. It was something I loved so much that if I had to I would have played with my feet.”

The answer reveals the difference between a performer and an artist, and the difference was evident when he was asked what advice he would give to a youngster starting out on the guitar.

“I can honestly say just to follow your heart, because I know a lot of people that have a lot of money, and money does not create happiness.  It’s doing what you love that makes you happy,” James said.

 

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Casey James Article in “Your Parker County”

  1. Inconnu says:

    Very nice article. I so love the title: For the Love of It.
    And I especially like the ending: “In the meantime, Casey James will be taking Cool [….] to a bigger world that we can only hope is listening not just to the music, but to the man.”
    So well said!

  2. Lori Crowl says:

    Such a humble, kind hearted man! He has such love for what he is doing, and we his fans, LOVE what he is doing! You just cannot help but smile when you see such enthusiasm in his face,voice and the music he plays! There are NO LIMITS as to where Casey’s career will go, MAYBE CLEAR TO THE MOON!

  3. Roni Jones says:

    What a wonderful, inspiring article! I have watched Casey from his first day at American Idol, and
    I still feel the same. He is a warm, humble, young man, very talented and a first class artist. Casey James has it all, as an up coming star. Wishing him continued success he deserves.

    Roni

    • alexis Dunn says:

      He says it all in this article just follow your heart. Money never buys happiness, it shows he was raised right and a million thanks to Debra.

  4. CanadianFAN says:

    If I was to explain how Casey touched my heart from the very first time I saw him on American Idol, I couldn’t begin to do it.
    There is something divine in his mannerisms, and the peace that he brings upon me is bigger than words. In this day and age, artists can have a lot to offer society in the way they represent themselves and this is what I love so much about him. He is such a hard worker and “Jesus- like”.is what comes to my mind about him.There is so much music talent stored in this man that we haven’t even scratched the surface yet.

  5. Pingback: Casey James Weekly Wrap-up – 10/23 | The Casey James Blog

Leave a Reply

