Early Preview of Casey James’ “Let’s Don’t Call It a Night” Music Video

Casey’s first music video is getting its national television premiere tomorrow on CMT as part of their Big New Music Weekend.  We have an early preview, courtesy of CMT.com.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Visit CMT.com to see the video on their site and post your comments!  Click here.

The first review of the video is from Preston Jones at DFW.com who wrote this afternoon “It’s an appropriately steamy clip for such a sultry tune; director Roman White (an ubiquitous Nashville figure who’s worked with everyone from Taylor Swift to Scotty McCreery) keeps the slightly goofy-creepy premise — is Casey serenading these ladies from the hallway? — on an even keel.”  You can read the entire article HERE.

Congrats to Casey, CMT’s Next Big Thing artist, on your first music video!

About Shari

Creator and Administrator of The Casey James Blog.
This entry was posted in Casey James, Let's Don't Call it a Night, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Early Preview of Casey James’ “Let’s Don’t Call It a Night” Music Video

  1. Drew J says:

    How about remove all 3 girls and have Casey do what they do instead! :))

    I like the fact that they focused on his singing and guitar-playing. That’s what I’ve always wanted to see. I wouldn’t be surprised if older Casey fans would find this too sexy, but well that’s how the song is all about anyway.

    All 3 girls waiting for Casey to come home… that’s how I see the ending plot. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it haha.

    I think I felt numb when he teasingly grinned at the camera. I’ll have the repeat button constant on that part 🙂

  2. Boudica says:

    How did you watch the video Drew?

  3. Drew J says:

    Boudica, I DMd you on Twitter.

  4. Boudica says:

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much Drew I was going slightly crazy!!!!

  5. Gudrunvoncat(Australia) says:

    Great video very sexy and suits the song so well-I agree that the cheeky grin at the end by Casey is priceless.

  6. Boudica says:

    Oh I still cant see DM on twitter.

  7. Boudica says:

    Okay I finally got to see it!

  8. music woman says:

    THUD!

  9. Mr.Casey James, you make my day again!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 ……………………
    Casey and Casey Girls rule the world!!! Compliment to Carman & Cyndee & Terri & Co.!!!
    Thank you so much, you are the best!!! ….but the producer and cameraman of this official LDCIAN video is a beginners….they are not the best!!! Just in my opinion, even more – IMAO ;)) Casey’s song had deserved something better because our Artist, Musician & Man, is the Coolest of All !!! Nothing could be better !!! Undoubtedly, the * NEXT BIG THING* 🙂 God bless, AMEN!

    p.s…. sorry, I’m a bit of a perfectionist 😉
    @inta31 & Casey’s Latvian fan 4ever!!!

    • Patty says:

      Inta, you may be interested in knowing Roman White directed Casey’s video. Roman White is a huge video director. He has produced videos for some of the bigest names in country music. Check it out. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roman_White It looks like Sony set Casey up with the best. 🙂

      • Kathe says:

        Roman White just finished Scotty McCreery’s video that will be previewed Next Weekend. I think he did an amazing job.

      • Sorry, about a beginners….only leaves me wanting a little more… it’s about Mr. White! But Casey in this video is perfect, as ever!!! GENUINE CASEY JAMES… like no one else!
        Thanks Patty for the information.

  10. That Casey’s charming smile at the end of video got me 🙂 … and I love a girl in the car maximize the sound!!! Only I listen to it the max volume!!!
    “… Only leaves me wanting more…” 😉 …It’s not about Casey, it’s about the conception of producer!!!!!!:)… it could have been better 😉

  11. CrazyCEJFan- Tracy says:

    I thought Caseys video for Lets Don’t Call it a Night was just right-him playing guitar and singing and a little bit sexy-perfect for the song. Love that “Come and get me look” at the end of the video! Don’t worry Casey-you have NOTHING to worry about! Loved the girl turning up the volume in the car also (that would be me!!) .Congratulations Sir-this is just the beginning!

  12. 'IJ' says:

    Aaaarrrgh…we Casey fans across the pacific can’t access the video…*sigh

  13. CrazyCEJFan- Tracy says:

    P.S. I also like the fact that he isn’t shown in the room with the girl-this is very teasing-I like teasing.-on second thought-this video is more than a little sexy and it’s going to get Casey a lot of attention! YOU GO CASEY!!

  14. Laura Patterson says:

    This is my two-cents worth of comments re CJ’s video – seems really low-budget and not worthy of Casey’s talent. We have waited over a year for this and I’m very disappointed with the record company if this is the best they could do. Sorry, I love Casey and think he’s an amazing artist and it kills me to say this, but he deserves a lot better.

    • Boudica says:

      The first video is a difficult one. I definitively see what you mean with production values. But right now it is better for Casey to not have to many expenses. Everything the label spends they will want back. And it is very difficult right now in country. They dont know how well Casey’s song is going to do on the charts, and music videos have ZERO impact on radio play. Casey is currently not even in the top 40, so I can see why they wouldn’t want to spend too much on video that doesn’t help Casey with radio spins.
      I think they are basically just trying to tick the boxes with this video, and it is only a way to give country fans a glimpse of Casey.
      Now if Casey’s song does well, I am pretty sure would fork out more for his next video.

    • Laura, I’m on your side… but we are in the minority 😉 hehehe ……CMT’s next *Big Thing Artist Casey James* deserves a lot better!!! So cute and kitschy, but a little potboiler 😉 from the producer’s side! Young girls certainly is excited… in common with many of us….me too…hot & sexy….. but I expected something more, producer’s work there is too simple!:)

    • Patty says:

      Laura, Roman White directed Casey’s video. Roman White is a huge video director and has directed for some of the biggest names in the business. I very much doubt he would direct a low-budget video. Check him out. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roman_White

  15. Lucy M says:

    I finally watched CJ’s New Video on TV!!! It was Surreal… It Sounds Fantastic and Looks very Cool!!!! I couldn’t believe it happened!!! I hope this is only the beginning!!! ❤

  16. Renee says:

    I like the video. It’s sexy and flirty without being trashy. I’m glad Casey kept it low-key. Some of the videos I’ve seen, even in country music were way over the top. Maybe each of these girls is hearing this romantic song on the radio waiting for her guy (not Casey) to get home. The sly smile at the end means he knows he’s headed home to his sweetheart. Just my take on it. In any case I think it’s great!

    • Renee says:

      …and those close-ups of that mouth of his!? Have mercy!!!

    • Carman (coolcjfan) says:

      Renee, I love your take on it. Very tastefully done, it’s sexy but not trashy. These girls are not thinking about Casey…they are listening to his song on the radio, and thinking about who they wouldn’t call it a night with. Love the sly smile at the end too!!

  17. Kathe says:

    I think this video was done perfectly, It shows women turning up the radio when he is ‘on the air’ and in their own world… havent we ALL just listened to him sing and sighed….it isnt about him having three women waiting for him…. they could have shown thousands of women turning up the radio, and closing their eyes. It is simply stated…. I dont know about anyone else.. but I’m really happy that they didn’t put him in the rooms with any of the women. Its romantic, Let’s don’t call it a night…. Casey’s song will become the ‘OUR SONG” of many couples. He is so sweet. The man is genuine, and to see him in person.. he radiates positive energies. The video is not OVER DONE.. it fits Casey’s honest approach to his music, to his life. Does anyone really want to see Casey in a romantic video with a beautiful woman. He’s the good guy, the boy next door.. I love the video… just my thoughts

    • I like that… I myself was hoping for a video that focused on the music, Casey doing the singing and playing guitar that he loves so much and just a hint of what the lyrics reference, romance and attraction. I think Casey is still a quiet, humble and discreet young man and appearing with the women wouldn’t have really suited him at this point. As far as the production qualitity… since i don’t watch TV or movies very often, I am not going to pass judgement. I always enjoy seeing Casey play. Seeing his committment and joy to what he loves is enough for me!

    • Aunt Sherry says:

      I like your term “simply stated”. Think that sums it up. I don’t watch many videos, most are so stupid & have nothing to do w/the song that I can’t stand them. Just Casey w/guitar and girls turning up the radio are fine with me! Congrats Honey!!!

      • Corrin says:

        I agree. Loved it. The video is good ,showcases his talent and fans of all ages can enjoy it! Bet Lyndi and Jaryn are happy little cousins!!

    • Joanie says:

      I agree totally with Kathe’s take on the video. These ladies are turning up the radio for Casey’s song and dreaming of their own thing. Perfect!

  18. SnoSmurf says:

    Agree Renee and Kathe.. I think it was tastefully done and expresses the story of the song very well and showcased what is important.. his voice and mad guitar skills.

    Happy to see that “Mine” had a starring role 🙂

  19. KachinaDoll says:

    I’ve seen comments about it seeming low-budget in several places now. I’m not sure why. I count four different interiors — hallway, living room, bathroom and bedroom — as well as the exterior, woman-driving-around scene, and four models. It’s beautifully lit, beautifully photographed, and thought has been given to set decoration. It may not be the most expensive video in the world, but it’s probably a good way away from being the cheapest, especially compared to the CMT music videos showing along with it.

    Love it or hate it (I’m bouncing back and forth like a ping pong ball myself), I think there’s a strong concept both visually and thematically. Sony didn’t cheap out on us.

    I wonder how much Red Solo Cup cost.

    • alexis Dunn says:

      I think casey’s video was better than some of the others to me not low budget. I wanted to see Casey and his wonderful smile to me it was tasteful and well done. He is the guy next door and our dream man. The song is wonderful.

    • Aunt Sherry says:

      Whatever Red Solo Cup cost was waaaay too much…what a waste of air time. But I do like Toby.

      • Carman (coolcjfan) says:

        I couldn’t agree more, Aunt Sherry. If I didn’t know Casey’s video would be coming up soon I would’ve turned my TV off after that useless excuse of a song/video. KachinaDoll I completely agree with you about the video budget. They weren’t skimpy by any means and I thought it was very well done with the lights, candles, decor and what not. I think the vid showcases the song perfectly!! It’s about the music with Casey, not his looks and although he can’t ugly himself up enough to keep us from appreciating his good looks, this video didn’t play them up. I felt like it was VERY Casey, from the simple setting he was playing in with his own guitar & strap all the way down to the fast car at the end.

  20. CJFan_Amber says:

    Loved the video. The director did a great job of keeping it simple and letting Casey be himself. Casey is doing what he does best.

    My take on the video is: The women look very pensive after a night out with someone they enjoyed spending the evening with. The are listening to the song thinking about what could have been had they not called it a night. OR, simply: Turn up that radio!! Regardless, I love it!

    • I like that take on the video Amber.. What the song means to the women as they hear it.. Who were they wishing they had more time with and missing as the song plays on the radio. Just love watching Casey do what he loves. He is always so energizing when he is singing and playing.

  21. Gaja says:

    Can anybody support Casey’s fan outside the USA, please?
    I’m from Poland and have no acces to watch this video 😦

  22. Blueslane uk says:

    I can’t access the video at present, which is really annoying, especially after reading all the great comments about it. Hopefully I will get to see it soon!

  23. Cynthia says:

    I agree with Renee, Boudica, and Kathy’s comments about Casey James’ persona for a country music video. It’s a bummer though, but I can’t access the video in my region yet.

  24. NYCJFan97 says:

    So great to see Casey’s video!! 🙂 I agree that it was well done and many other CMT videos are way over the top. Hopefully it will help Casey get more radio play and concert dates!

  25. Stacy says:

    Come on ladies, ie Kathe, let’s get real! Doesn’t anyone out there have red blood coursing through her veins and want to see Casey in a romantic scenario besides me? We all recognize Casey’s immense talents but there’s no denying he oozes sex appeal! I hate to sound like Simon Cowell but I DIDN’T GET that video! Women lolling around like they want to have a good time for themselves, BY THEMSELVES–REALLY? This is sexy to you? To me it doesn’t express the story of the song. Where’s the “holdin’ me tight”? How about Casey slow dancing with a girl and the suggestion of what would come next? It doesn’t have to be trashy to get the point across. This video is a huge let down for me if i’m being honest. It was very George Michael “Freedom”-esque and not nearly as hot. Sorry Casey! Still love ya though!

    • Laura Patterson says:

      I’m in agreement with you – I was really looking forwarding to seeing Casey dancing with a woman, being adorable and sexy…. all in good taste. The video could have ended with them closing the bedroom door. I’ve seen tons of CJ playing the guitar and looking cute, this video could have been playful and show personality and interaction between CJ and his lady. IMO that would have made the video interesting and engaging, with me vicariously living thru her….. Oh well, maybe next time!

      I guess you could say I’m left (Simon Cowell voice) “feeling frustrated!”

  26. Megan (haveaniceday711) says:

    Goodness gracious!

  27. Cynthia says:

    I saw Inta’s recorded version of the video and I think it’s AMAZING!!
    SO MUCH CASEYNESS!!!!

  28. Blueslane uk says:

    Inta Akerberga THANK YOU!! much appreciated.

  29. pamrichva says:

    Looks like the director, Roman White, has directed several Carrie Underwood and Kellie Pickler videos and won CMT video of the year awards for Lady Antebellum’s “Hello, World” and Taylor Swift’s “Mine.” I like both of those. I’m gonna have to go with being a little disappointed with the LDCIAN video, though, mainly because the women are so suggestive. I am in no way a prude, and maybe my mind is actually too much in the gutter, but…it makes me a little uncomfortable to watch parts of it. I think the song is more about interaction than flying solo, so to speak. Still love the “Casey” parts of it, though. Close-ups of him singing and playing are great! Just sorry they took it in this direction, or at least that far. Women turning up the radio is not a bad angle, but whew! The actresses just went overboard to me….which points to the director. Hmmm…maybe they’re trying to win over more guys….LOL!

    Good news is that the video is out there so more people will be introduced to Casey and his music. The SONG is the main thing here, and everyone should love it!!

    • Gaja says:

      “maybe they’re trying to win over more guys” – this was my first thought about this video. Really!! You are totally right (in my opinion, of course 😉

  30. lisa says:

    I give it a thumbs up,maybe 2 thumbs up.I will be watching it again.I was lucky I seen it on cmt at 7:18am this morning,I had just gotten home from dropping kids at school,

  31. lisa says:

    I can’t believe people think the ladies are being too sugestive.you people need to watch LAMFO
    on vh1 or what ever that group is called or really any vh1 video trust me this video is very tame.

  32. Blueslane uk says:

    I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I like the LDCIAN video, there is not too much going on, so you are able to concentrate on Casey, his voice and guitar playing. Simple but effective.

  33. Carolyn says:

    Well, to me this vid worked. First – it showcased Casey’s voice and guitar skills and yes, his purty. The shots of his mouth, the last look… lots of purty to stare at. It’s a nice intro of Casey to a new audience.

    The women didn’t bother me. They are listening to a sexy, sultry song on the radio and missing their man. I don’t think that man is Casey. Casey is just singing his song on the radio and making women think of their love. Cool beans.

  34. Stacy says:

    Thank you Laura! You said it perfectly!

  35. CrazyCEJFan- Tracy says:

    I think some people still don’t “get” Casey! I agree with Kathe-he’s the good guy-the boy next door! I hope he keeps doing his videos in good taste.

  36. Yael says:

    Can’t watch it from Israel 😦 it says the video is no good for my region 😦 *snif snif*

  37. Renee says:

    I have to agree with something I saw posted by Cynthia over at CEJFC. This video was very respectful to women. These ladies were very beautiful without being trashy. It was so nice to NOT see a surgically enhanced female jiggling her way across the screen. Everytime I watch this video I appreciate it more. Thanks Casey for bringing us a video as classy as you are.

  38. Lulu Dee says:

    I was disappointed with this music video because I thought Casey said he was going to act in the video, so I assumed there would be interaction, flashbacks. Cutaways, different scenes, etc, as he is singing, like we are part of his mind, as he is in a romantic situation. For example, Casey and gal walking on beach, having romantic dinner, they dance, he takes her home, but doesn’t want to leave, but as he is going to his car, she calls him back, and he goes inside, as he is closing door, we get that same smile! That’s how I thought it was going to be. The way it was done though is rather one dimensional and flat. Casey is still great though, and the video is good but doesn’t have that wow factor.

    • Doritos2011 says:

      That is just too literal for me. As in every word in the song has to happen. I don’t recall Casey said he’s going to act, or did he?

      I like videos who put a different angle or takes on a different plot, so long as the core concept is there. I’d say I liked this video enough to watch it more than twice a day.

Leave a Reply

