Casey James at the Greek – July 26

Tonight at 7:30, Casey took the stage at the Greek Theatre for what was the second of two consecutive nights this month that he opened for Sugarland.  Like last night, the set was short (4 songs), but impactful.  Ensuring the audience knew where he’s from, Casey started his set with “Need Some Texas.”  Slowing things down, he then sang the plaintive and poignant “Why Am I Feeling Blue.”  Casey’s next song was his recently identified and soon-to-be-released single “Let’s Don’t Call It a Night.”  He concluded with one of his signature originals, “Shine Your Shoes.”  Using just an acoustic guitar, Casey put a unique spin on all of these songs.

Amy E Smith (@AmyESmith9) was kind enough to call in from the concert, and we were able to record part of Casey’s set. Unfortunately, the recording is a little faint and cut-out during his last song. Video

Thanks to MsVerucas for the videos below.

You Need Some Texas  

Why I’m Feeling Blue

Photos

Arturo Everett took some great photos of Casey that you can view here.

Tweets

Andrew Garcia (@andrewagarcia), who was on American Idol on Season 9 with Casey, was at the concert and tweeted this:  Chillin with @caseyejames at his show with sugarland, I love and miss this dude!!!

@ChaazJWilliams:  At this concert real quick who is #SugarLand lol well if u find out let me know I just drop by to see the homie @caseyejames

Reviews

Casey’s set was briefly mentioned in this review of the entire concert from hollywoodlife.com.

Blair Gardner of After Midnite interviewed Casey backstage at the Greek.  They discussed the new single, plans for the album, opening for Sugarland, and co-writing with Kristian Bush.  He talked about recognizing some faces in the crowd and knowing that they are there to see him and how great it is to be able to share his music with the fans.  When asked, “Do you tweet?” He said yes immediately, then chuckled, and amended, saying “I do very randomly.”

When asked how fans can keep up with what he’s doing, Casey was so sweet to mention the blog as one of the best places to keep up to date on what he’s doing.

To listen to the whole interview, click here.

About Shari

Creator and Administrator of The Casey James Blog.
This entry was posted in Concerts, Live Performances, Music, News, Videos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Casey James at the Greek – July 26

  1. Dona C. @ HBHUNNY says:

    Thanks for the update!! Love to hear about Casey! Now I hope he gets some rest before the Mint!! 🙂

  2. Patti (caseyscrew205) says:

    I was there, and Casey was great! The crowd seemed to really like him, even though it wasn’t full yet. I recorded two videos, but I was really far away, the sound is good, but the video is not great. I will upload them anyway if you want. I have a few from Sacramento too. I know, I’m bad, but I will get them uploaded!

  3. Joan says:

    Didn’t see your tweet about needing someone to call in. Glad you found someone. We were pretty far away, so don’t know if people would have heard it on my crappy cell anyway, lol. Casey was great as always, just wish he could have played longer, but Sacramento tied me over until the Mint and Vegas 🙂

  4. Patti (caseyscrew205) says:

    Those are my vids. 🙂 I was really far away, and I think he came out looking like a ghost because there was a light in back of him, and it couldn’t distinguish the rest, lol But the sound was pretty good, so thought I would send them to Shari anyway. 🙂

  5. Katy says:

    This is one of my favorite songs that Casey does, but the audience makes too much noise in the videos. Sure hope he records the song so I can buy a professional recording. People are so f*ing rude!

  6. Joan says:

    Patti, I don’t think they’re bad considering how far away we were. Katy, I know what you mean. There was one lady in particular that you could hear really loud during the vid and I was thinking she needs to shut the hell up, lol.

Leave a Reply

