Casey James Announces First Single — Let’s Don’t Call it a Night

Tonight, from the main stage at the California State Fair in Sacramento, California, Casey James announced that his first single would be “Let’s Don’t Call it a Night.”  He also told the fans there and listening in remotely that they can start requesting the single from their local radio stations this week.

The song, co-written with Brice Long and Terry McBride, was first performed publicly on March 4, 2011 during Casey’s opening set for Sugarland at the Verizon Arena in North Little Rock, Arkansas.

Casey told the crowd that as of tomorrow, they can start calling their local radio stations to request it.  Someone should warn the radio station operators, Casey’s fans are used to making calls for him!

For a list of radio stations around the country, click on the “Promotion” tab at the top of this blog.

The announcement spread across the Twitterverse pretty fast and by the morning, the DFW.com site already had an article up about it, which you can access hereainow.com announced it here.

Congratulations to Casey and good luck with your first single.  May it go to #1!

Let’s Don’t Call it a Night, performed on 7/21/11

About Shari

Creator and Administrator of The Casey James Blog.
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Casey James Announces First Single — Let’s Don’t Call it a Night

  1. Dallas says:

    So glad I like a lot of his songs but this one has always been my favorite 

  2. Dallas says:

    SO SWEET is pretty sweet song as well  Hardest job will be for Casey to pick the songs for the album. No one hit wonder with him as they are sure to ALL be hits!

  3. lisa says:

    love his pick for single.i will be calling houston radio station tomorr.i’m so excited!

  4. Kachina Doll says:

    Hooray!!!! That’s soooo coooool!!!!

    Will there be a video?

  5. Karen Clark says:

    Oh, I am so happy that he picked this one for his single. It is my favorite.

  6. mississippicjfan says:

    I am finding that some stations take email song requests. I started with this one the Atlanta Station on the publicity link above.

  7. Lucy M says:

    YAY, I Love the song choice!!!!!! I am so happy for Casey!!!!!
    When I heard the song for the first time, I thought It could be a Hit song.
    I love the new version Casey sang at Kodiak Jack’s very much!!!!
    I will definitely call Detroit radio Station to request.

  8. Katy says:

    I love every song Casey sings except this one. I am disappointed, but hope it is a big hit and look forward to a CD that has other songs, as I cant wait to buy that!

  9. Boudica says:

    I am glad that Casey has finally gotten a single. I think it is good choice for the first single.

    But I don’t know why he said people should start calling radio stations. Radio stations DON’T play songs if they don’t haven’t been officially added. The song would first have to be released to itunes and then go for add dates. People should safe their energy until that time.

    • Boudica says:

      ^^^ Excuse the grammar mistakes, i hope people can still understand the post.

    • Alexis Dunn says:

      You can still start requesting the song even if they don’t have a copy yet. It lets the studie DJ’S know that there are lots of fans outthere that are waiting for this single. That way when they get a copy they will start playing it. You don’t wait til the single is out.
      So everyone please start calling tomorrow.

  10. CanadianFAN says:

    I am so excited for Casey James!
    His first single is what we Casey fans have been waiting for and the time has come.
    Let’s keep our Casey stamina going strong.
    This song choice is so fitting because it is more country
    to launch his official label so this is a perfect choice.
    I love the dreamy way Casey sings it and a video for it would be so sexy !!
    Bravo!!!

  11. CanadianFAN says:

    By the way, this home video above is okay, but this not a professional job so I wouldn’t rate this song based on the above video because it doesn’t do justice to this beautiful song.

  12. Renee says:

    Exciting stuff!!! After all this waiting it’s actually happening! Wycd in Detroit has an on line request site, just google it. Someone suggested just once a day so they don’t think we’re a bunch of loons! I’m thinking a single now, one in Jan with the album release and maybe Drive for next spring/summer! Even though I like this song it probably wouldn’t have been my first choice. Then again, I’m not the artist or the record executive that does this for a living. Can’t wait for everyone to “discover” our awesome guy!

  13. kathyt1 says:

    So happy for YOU Casey…. Congratulations… and I want to buy it too….

    Love this song…

  14. Aunt Sherry says:

    Woo-hoo! Casey fans unite…remember all your friends & relatives you had vote during American Idol? (Amazingly, mine actually still speak to me!) If you give them the number, maybe they’ll call the radio stations…just sayin’. (From what little I know about things, you can have a killer song but if it doesn’t get radio play it won’t be a hit)

  15. Lulu Dee says:

    At long last, good news and a good country choice for his debut single. For awhile there I thought maybe Casey and his team were going for a new Guinness World Record: The Most Appearances By A Recording Artist Without Any Record Out (ha ha)! I am hoping it goes to number one worldwide.

  16. Naomi says:

    So happy for Casey. Can’t wait to hear him on the radio. I tried to request Casey on Pandora but not found.

  17. kcjewel says:

    I think there is some request etiquette that you might want to suggest. It would not be good to tick off all radio stations around the country!

  18. Jake F says:

    Nice, great choice. Usually the lead single is up-beat but, this is a great country tune. I think country radio will jump on this track!

  19. Karen says:

    There are a number of Casey’s songs that I think would be great for the single, but I think this one is a perfect pick! It shows off both his voice and guitar skills and is catchy and upbeat. I am so excited to see what happens when it is released!! 🙂

  20. CrazyCEJFan- Tracy says:

    So, so happy Casey picked this song for first single-it will definately get ppls. attention! So proud to be his fan! Congratulations Casey! I wish you all the success you deserve!

  21. Carolyn says:

    Shari,
    It might be a good idea to do a post on radio etiquette. As a couple of fans posted above, we CJ fans do not want to get a reputation as crazy-ass numnuts constantly harrassing PDs/DJs.

    I had a very good friend who did this gig for several years after college and he used to make HUGE fun of people who called every day asking for one song. NUTS, he said. And out of perverse honor, he would never, ever play the song -or the artist.

    We need to be respectful and actually LISTEN to the radio station we are emailing/calling. If you aren’t willing to do that, than you shouldn’t ask for a song. Radio stations want peeps who listen. That’s how they get ads. That’s how they make money. Respect that.

    Okay. I’ll get off my soapbox. 😉

  22. lisa says:

    ok i put my 1st request to kilt100.3 and kkbq.in houston,tx.I don’t want to over do it so I’ll wait
    a couple of days to do it again.

  23. Pingback: What Does It Mean by Releasing Casey’s Debut Single to Radio | The Casey James Blog

  24. Blueslane uk says:

    Congratulations Casey! Good song choice, hope it does well.
    Look forward to listening to you on British radio sometime in the near future.

Leave a Reply

