Casey James Plays a Killer Set at Lambeau Field

Casey played a long set (11 songs!) just outside the gates in a free concert before the Kenny Chesney Goin’ Coastal concert began in Green Bay, Wisconsin.   The concert was sponsored by Y100 WNCY.

Casey opened with Long Tall Texan followed by a rollicking version of Bulletproof that really got the party going.  He took it slower and more sultry next with Let’s Don’t Call it a Night.   After that was one of Casey’s newer songs that has quickly become a favorite with the fans, So Sweet, immediately followed by another popular new one You Need Some Texas. Next up was one we haven’t heard in a while, ‘Til My Guitar.  Casey then did a Lee Roy Parnell cover, The Rock, followed by the Hal Ketchum cover Small Town Saturday Night.  He then revved up the intensity with Drive & the powerful, bluesy, rocking Done Made Up My Mind.  Casey pulled out one more song for the appreciative crowd, Hold On, which he co-wrote with Kristian Bush.

Set List
Long Tall Texan
Bulletproof
Let’s Don’t Call it a Night
So Sweet
You Need Some Texas
‘Til My Guitar
The Rock
Small Town Saturday Night
Drive
Done Made Up My Mind
Hold On

Thanks to Sandy Lamboy and her amazing husband Jim for providing this for us! Video

Let’s Dont Call it a Night (thanks again to Sandy).

So Sweet

Hold On (partial)

New Video – Special thanks to Kaelynnnroseee (YouTube name) for re-submitting her videos of the Casey James Concert in Green Bay.  She is giving us the full songs and the whole concert in its entirety.

First pic in from @bashville, it’s kind of like Where’s Waldo but we’ll take it for now!

UPDATED:  Radio station Y100 took some terrific pictures at the tailgate party concert.  Click here to see them all.

Here’s a pic of Casey with Toni & Sandy…they’ve provided us with alot of pics!

Thanks again to Sandy (@morningstar4us) for these pics.

Yep, she  has the set list.  What a keepsake!

From Toni @mattiesgirl08, see all her pics here.

.

@mel__bell. You can go here to see all 76 (yep, that’s right 76).

Jenn Johnston took some great photos which she posted on Facebook.  Click here to see the rest.

Casey’s view from stage at Lambeau Field:

This entry was posted in Casey James, Concerts, Live Performances, Music, News, Photos, Videos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Casey James Plays a Killer Set at Lambeau Field

  1. Laura Patterson says:

    For a guy with no CD out yet, Casey’s getting some amazingly excellent exposure – opening some dates for Sugarland & Little Big Town, the CMA Fest double performance and now eleven(!!) songs before a Kenny Chesney!!! concert. This is really blowing my mind! I’m so happy for Casey!! Thank you Shari & Marie for this blog – you are best!! Also, thank you to all Casey fans sharing videos and photos with the rest of us!!

    • Alexis Dunn says:

      I am so happy he got to do 11 songs wow. I know after last nights mike cut off he was not a happy camper but this makes up for it.

  2. Jeanette says:

    Thank you, Shari and Marie, another great job. The sound was very good today. I could hear every song. Sounds like he really had the crowd going. They were very responsive and loved him as much as we do.

    • And thanks to Sandy Lamboy and her awesome husband for helping us all share the experience over the phone!! Casey really does have the greatest fans!!!

      • Jeanette says:

        You are so right, Shari. I had the pleasure of listening. BIG THANKS to Sandy Lamboy and her husband. Great jot.

  3. @Girl4Reba says:

    As always, thanks for all you do 🙂 WHOA ELEVEN SONG SET!! G4R FAINTS

  4. Mich_in_Colo says:

    I am gonna send that boy some new shirts!

  5. MattiesGirl08 says:

    This experience will last a life time for me! Thank you Casey for being such a sweetheart. You truly are “So Sweet”! You rocked and the crowd loved it! Thanks for being you!! 🙂

  6. MattiesGirl08 says:

    PS the pic in the middle is not from Lambeau!

  7. Renee says:

    Love the jacket and t shirt! Also love the fact that so many new folks are getting to see his amazing talent and passion! He’s worked so hard and so long and is so deserving of all the recognition.

  8. Neet says:

    It’s nice to see a picture of the crowd so we can see how many people are there. Considering it’s hours before the main concert, this is a good turnout – Casey must be pleased to see things are really happening for him now. I’m so happy for him. Thanks for the good pics – hope some video turns up. What would we do without this blog – thanks so much for all the work you do.

  9. Bybee D James says:

    Hey Aunt Sherry!! The brand NEW shirt he wore on the big stage was white AND he wore a red one in Wisconsin! Their not ALWAYS blue! Ha!
    (just most of the time) lol!!!
    Love you sis! Come to Billy Bob’s!!

  10. Ana Lúcia Perfoncio says:

    Even without launching the CD, Casey James attracts many people thanks to his performance with guitar and your music! I like the Photos of guitars, they are remarkable presence of this guy!
    Thank you for sharing your photos, videos and experience!
    Even being a big fan (Brazilian) Casey James, will be hard to watch a show it live, but with the releases by the media, that makes me happy!
    Thank you Shari!

  11. Blueslane uk says:

    Still loving that beautiful voice

    • pamrichva says:

      George Jones may have recorded the Rock…but it was an early (1992) single for Lee Roy Parnell on his second CD and that’s probably who Casey was covering…another link between the two…which excites me again as he’s my all time favorite…as everyone knows by now….sure hope they come up with something together before it’s over. WooHoo….I couldn’t get to the audio from my home computer, so can’t wait ’til I”m back at work and can pull up Casey’s version.
      http://video.tvguide.com/Lee+Roy+Parnell/THE+ROCK/1095999
      I could certainly have sung along to this one. If Casey ever covers “Love Without Mercy,” I’ll flip.

  12. kathyt1 says:

    Casey is really starting to get the exposure that he needs. That album has GOT to be close since he has so many amazing songs ready right now. I just watched “Tombstone” recently and this is my analogy from quotes from “TombStone” (one of Casey’s favorite movies) for that ALBUM….
    “Go ahead – skin it – skin that smoke wagon and see what happens” – WE”LL BE BUYIN’ THAT CD
    “Trip that pistol and go to work” – Smoke those guitars with those blazin’ fingers and cut that CD with all your wicked guitar skills laid on those tracks.
    “I said throw down boy.” ANTICIPATION – we are DYING for that album….
    THANK YOU Casey James for following your dreams and DELIVERING for all the fans. Can’t wait to see ya at Billy Bob’s. Will be taking pictures for a new “picture book” for you.

    • Boudica says:

      Hmm there is some unofficial word around that Casey’s single will be out in the fall and his album will only be out in next year February. I hope this is some kind of maximum projection and not true dates.

  13. Cynthia says:

    I think Casey has to be the most photographed musician
    that I ever heard
    of.,
    oh____ but he is so photogenic!

  14. Patti (caseyscrew205) says:

    Thanks for all these great pics and videos and for getting them up so quickly. Casey looks so happy! I can’t wait to hear those awesome songs in July! 🙂

  15. maria says:

    is there a color Casey does NOT look good in? i doubt it! these pics are TO DIE FOR!!! he looks and sounds amazing. cannot. wait. for. this. album!!

  16. beanbag64 says:

    I love the video of Hold On. Such a great song, and Casey’s voice sounds amazing!

  17. karenbar13 says:

    Wow! His voice sounds especially good in this performance. Thanks to Sandy and Jim, and to this blog for giving Casey’s fans a chance to hear him. Loved how he sounds on the two covers; it’s great to hear some things we haven’t heard. Done Made Up My MInd sounds so powerful! Can’t wait for a chance to see him in person.

    But I just have to say something that’s been bothering me since I heard the first Casey/Sugarland stuff. I *hate* the back-up singing. It really intrudes and overwhelms. I would really like Long Tall Texan if not for it, and Let’s Don’t Call It a Night is my least favorite because of it. I thought at first maybe it sounded out of balance with the lead voice because of the limitations of recording at a performance, but every version I’ve heard has Let’s Don’t sounding this way.
    Casey has a strong, wonderfully affecting voice. That’s what we want to hear.

  18. Louise says:

    I agree with your assessment of the background singer. His voice competes with Casey’s
    instead of complimenting it.

  19. Lulu Dee says:

    I have to disagree about the background singing…I love it when bandmembers sing because it adds to the total effect of the show and it’s perfect in Long TT and I love the NA NA NA NA, NA NA NA NA background in So Sweet. This could be a cool audience sing along at the end…Na na na na…Love could be so sweet (4 or 5 X). GGO CASEY! Your star is rising!!!

  20. Minilove66 says:

    Thank you for all the share and great articles!
    “Hold On” acorstic version was so nice, and I love this band version too! Beautiful…
    Can’t wait for the his first CD!!

  21. LBinWI says:

    I just wanted to share a story with all you Casey James fans! I am a huge fan of Idol and season 9, I really had wanted to Casey to win. However, I have to admit I had lost track of him since his season ended. This past weekend I went to the Kenny Chesney concert at Lambeau Field in Green Bay, WI. And to my surprise, I found out that Casey James would be playing on a stage in the parking lot before the concert! I was so excited!!! I honestly had no idea what kind of music he would play (I figured I wasn’t going to get to hear Heaven or Jealous Guy!) but I was very excited to see him. We were tailgating in the parking lot prior to the concert and my entire group knew I was going to go see Casey play. Someone looked over and said, “Hey, if you want your picture taken with Casey James, go over there!”. So my friend and I went over to where he was and got our picture taken with him! He was such a sweet and nice guy. He was feeding someone’s dog some treats and he was so nice to all of the women lined up to get their picture taken with him! I think he would have stayed longer but his manager was pulling him away! He just seemed so genuinely nice and appreciative of everyone who cared that he was there. Oh, and I also have to mention….he is absolutely gorgeous! Those blue eyes are incredible in person!!

    Casey’s set was awesome! I was expecting more rock but it seems he has gone the way of country. His voice was beautiful that day…honestly, listening to him sing, I once again was reminded that I think he should have won. And his guitar skills are out of this world! My favorite song was the one he wrote with Kristian from Sugarland. It had great lyrics and was a great song. I can honestly say after seeing him, I can’t wait for his single and\or CD to come out. I have most of his Idol songs on my iPod, but I am very much looking forward to his new music now. I see you all are anxiously awaiting for it to come out too! I know how that goes (warning, I have to quickly promote something I’m very passionate about)…I am a huge, die hard fan of David Cook and we have been waiting 2 years for his sophomore CD to come out which will come out June 28th (his single The Last Goodbye is out now). Ok, sorry…. I couldn’t resist. But my point is, I know how hard the wait is. Hopefully, hearing from me…someone who hasn’t followed Casey post-Idol and saw him perform live is now a fan and very excited for his new music! I do think he gained some new fans that day. There was another band on stage prior to Casey and I don’t know anyone who went to see them perform. However, Casey had a big crowd and everyone around me was saying talking about how good he was. Oh one other thing…sorry, this is getting too long. Casey had a way of making you feel like he was looking right at you. I was in the middle of the crowd and I know he wasn’t actually looking at me but the way he looked out to the audience when he was talking made you feel like he was talking right to you. I think that is a great talent to have for an entertainer. Ok, I’ve taken up enough of your time! I had a great time seeing Casey and can’t wait to buy his new music! Take care “y’all”!

    • TCJB Staff says:

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your story!!! It is great to hear from new fans and you really conveyed what it’s like to see Casey in concert for the first time! And thanks too for offering some words of wisdom about patience! Glad to have you here!

    • maria says:

      LBinWI, how nice of you to take the time! you said what many of Casey’s fans have already known who have seen him. i have never had the pleasure of seeing him live and sometimes i wonder if those diehard fans are too biased to say anything negative but your testimony has convinced me that he is a guy worth following, not just because he is talented (and breathtaking gorgeous) but because he is a genuinely nice and grateful guy. my sympathies to you for being a Cookie fan, lol. what an excruciatingly long wait you have had for his second cd and i am happy that you now see the light at the end of the tunnel. i’m sure it will be worth the wait. i pray that i can be as patient as you as we now learn that Casey’s cd may not be heard until next year. thank you again for reassuring us that Casey is the guy we think he is and for helping us hang onto that last shred of patience. bless you.

  22. Megan says:

    His voice sounds incredibly strong and soulful in these clips. And just when I thought my crush on Casey James could not grow any stronger, he goes and pulls out “So Sweet” on us!!! 😉 Doggone it Casey, I do have to work during the day, LOL! I’m dying for him to come back to SC so I can hear some of these new songs live. So happy for him that things are rolling along in his career!

  23. cynyn says:

    Thanks for the new video, I appreciate it, but I wish it wasn’t edited so much. I would love to hear all of DMUMM instead of it being segmented. Boy the ending sure was dramatic. At least I got some of what the whole concert was like.

  24. Karen Clark says:

    I am an American Idol fan so I have been watching Casey from the beginning. I, too, thought he should have won but as far as I am concerned, he has won all of our hearts and I will always be a fan of his. I am so happy for him. I am so excited that I will get to see him at Billy Bob’s. I am just hoping I will get the pleasure of taking a picture with him. I love the fact that he is a “Texan”. Since I am an old Texas country girl, i think my favorite song is “Let’s Don’t Call It A Night”. I have to disagree with someone else’s comment earlier, I think the background is awesome. Let’s face it, Casey has what it takes. He is drop dead gorgeous and has so much talent that i can see him being as famous as “Elvis Presley” some day. Go, Casey, Go!!!! Love ya!!!! See ya soon!!!

  25. Katy7540 says:

    Thank you for these videos! Casey looks good in any color shirt, but my favorite is blue!

  26. samboy27 says:

    Special thanks to Kaelyn for re-submitting her videos of the Casey James Concert in Green Bay. She is giving us the full songs and the whole concert in it’s entirity. .

  27. Karen says:

    I’m so glad that we have the whole set of songs Casey played! Loved that he got to do 11 songs – what an awesome concert!

  28. Pingback: Fans Cannot Get Enough of Casey James | The Casey James Blog

Leave a Reply

