Casey James Performing at the Indiana State Fair Country Music Expo

Casey played an all-acoustic set at the Best Buy Country Music Expo at the Indiana State Fairgrounds in Indianapolis.  He debuted two new songs and played two new covers.   We are fortunate to have video from the whole show, so enjoy!

Set List

Drive
I Lied
Show Me a Bridge
Let’s Don’t Call it a Night
Everybody Thinks That You’re Still Mine
‘Til My Guitar
Small Town Saturday Night
Polk Salad Annie
Wayfaring Stranger

Videos:
Coming out on stage and opening with “Drive:”

Second Song “I Lied” (thanks to @JennaSG)

Third song, another original, “Show Me a Bridge” (thanks to @JennaSG)

Fourth was Casey’s latest performance of his song “Let’s Don’t Call It a Night”:

Fifth was a Matt Powell cover called “Everybody Thinks that You’re Still Mine,” thanks to @JennaSG again 🙂

Then Casey played his song “Till My Guitar” (via JennaSG):

Next was a Hal Ketchum cover, “Small Town Saturday Night:”

Then Casey played a cover of Tony Joe White’s “Polk Salad Annie:”

Finally, Casey did a song that he’s sung with him mom before, “Wayfaring Stranger:”

We have two more versions of “Drive,” the first via @JennaSG

The next video of “Drive” is from SpinnyJB:

Another video of “Show Me a Bridge” (thanks SpinnyJB)

Another video of “Everybody Still Thinks You’re Mine” (thanks SpinnyJB):

Another version of “Let’s Don’t Call it a Night” (thanks SpinnyJB):

Interview:  Casey was interviewed by WFMS 95.5 before the show and discussed his amazing fans (including one who came quite a distance to see Casey), going back to visit American Idol and touring with Sugarland:

Audio of the entire show including three songs not videotaped: (thanks to Twitter fan ridgef)  http://dl.dropbox.com/u/23725566/30-Apr_13-29%5B1%5D.mp3

Casey took the stage at 12:45 local time at the Country Music Expo in Indiana.  He opened with an acoustic version of “Drive” which had the crowd go crazy.  There was a lot more banter between songs than ever before and the crowd was laughing quite a bit. The second song was a new one — much more country-flavored, but with a rough edge, which he said was being played for the first time in front of people, but that his dogs liked, called “I Lied.”  The third song, called “Show Me a Bridge,” was slow, mournful, beautiful.  Fourth was “Let’s Don’t Call it a Night.” After that there was a Q&A session, which we hope we’ll have on video for you later.  His next song was a cover of “Everybody Thinks That You’re Still Mine,” originally by Matt Powell.  The Casey original “Til My Guitar” was up next.  Next was a cover of a Hal Ketchum song, “Small Town Saturday Night” (according to Karen from Hillsboro).  Then he did a song which this blog administrator had recently discussed with Casey’s mom (as one of our favorites — we both crushed on Tony Joe White) — “Polk Salad Annie.”  Then Casey did a song he’d performed with his mom in concert during the AI Homecoming Visit — “Wayfaring Stranger.”

Nine songs in all, three of his new songs that he had played during the Sugarland tour, two not-previously heard originals, and four covers.

Short video of Wayfaring Stranger:  http://www.twitvid.com/KDNUM

Short video of new song:  http://www.twitvid.com/3I2DG  (thanks @lespaulleslie for both)

Photos:

Casey was in Life magazine’s online edition:

Casey James performs during day one of the 2011 Country Music Expo at Indiana State Fair on April 30, 2011 in Indianapolis, Indiana

: Casey James performs during day one of the 2011 Country Music Expo at Indiana State Fair on April 30, 2011 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Michael Hickey Photography took some fantastic photos of Casey at the concert, including the two above and the two below which they were kind enough to give us permission to use.  Find the rest of the photos at their website:  http://bit.ly/kDcLu1

From Today.com: American Idol finalist, Casey James performs during day one of the 2011 Country Music Expo at Indiana State Fair on April 30, 2011 in Indianapolis, Indiana

One of Casey’s Twitter fans, Muddster88, sent out these picture during the set:

ivhgr.jpg

5ltfa.jpg

2qbmi.jpg

q9dog.jpg

Twitter fan LesPaulLeslie posted these pictures:

http://www.joeyfoley.net/Sites/Site/Last_Import_3.html

photo by Joey Foley

Before the show, Casey was signing autographs with fans:

Casey with Kevin, Deb and Jim of WFMS 95.5

lqkng.jpg

Casey and Smitty_Smitt

The Country Music Expo published this picture, and in the right side you can make out Casey’s outline as he waits to go on stage:

This entry was posted in Casey James, Concerts, Live Performances, Music, News, Photos, photos, Videos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Casey James Performing at the Indiana State Fair Country Music Expo

  1. Patty Wilkins says:

    Shari, you amaze me! I truly appreciate all of the time and effort you put into helping Casey’s fans stay up to date. I know it is not as easy as you make it look. You’re the best!

    Thanks!

    Patty xo

    p.s. I’m looking forward to hearing Casey’s new songs. Yippie! 🙂

  2. Polinka____ says:

    100% agree with Patty… I cannot believe how lucky we are to have a place like this to come to and find everything, and we are even able to listen live to performances 🙂 !!!!!!!! It’s unbelievable !!!!
    Thank you Shari, you truly are incredible 🙂 !!!

    • Lisette says:

      I’m also with Patty on this one! I don’t know how you do it Shari! It’s like you never sleep!!! LOL How do you get all this info on Casey so fast?!?! Not that i’m complaining 🙂 Thank you so much for doing this Shari. It is so very appreciated from all of Casey’s fans!

      Lisette 🙂

  3. Karen Smith from Hillsboro says:

    Shari, Small Town Saturday Night is an old Hal Ketchum song. Hope we get some good videos of his new songs. They sounded really good. I’m also anxious to hear what he said in between songs because he sure got a lot of laughs. Thanks again.

  4. Jeanette Wiggins says:

    Thank you, Shari. You alway amaze me!

  5. Patti says:

    I LOVE the song “I Lied”. ❤ I cannot wait for Casey's CD. 🙂 🙂

  6. Carolyn says:

    Ooooooo… I really like the new song! Can’t wait to hear the others. Casey’s voice is in fine form. Yippee! Can’t we have day after day of this? It’s so hard to go a month without a CJ fix. Sigh.

  7. Kachina Doll says:

    @JennaSG, thank you! You are a goddess. I’m so thankful that I can hear these songs, and such good audio quality on Casey’s beautiful voice.

  8. Cynthia says:

    I LOVE his new songs!! Casey is showing us what he was up to when we were missing him so much. He was creating great music!! I love him more and more. ” I Lied” and ” Show Me ” are awesome songs.

  9. I really love all the new songs; I think my favorite this time is”Show me a Bridge”. He puts some much emotion in this one. I really love it it. Thanks Shari for being on top of things. You really do a great job!!!!!!!!!! Don’t know what we would do without you.

  10. Cynthia says:

    Thank you very much, Shari!!!!

  11. CJFan_Amber says:

    I was excited before today to hear his album/cd to come out but after hearing his new material it is going to be even that much harder to wait! Goodness! The emotion he puts into his music gives me chills. Thank you so much to all of you that made it possible to hear him via conference call and a huge thank you to those that took video and pictures!

  12. Gail Vaughn says:

    Thanks Shari, for all you do for us…I was at the show today. Casey did an awesome performance. He did a lot of joking around, seemed really in his own element, so very comfortable. But it is always so interesting to get on here and check out all of your info. Enjoy it so much…:)

  13. Bybee D James says:

    I would love to share with Caseys fans something very special. I was there when Casey first sang “Show Me A Bridge” for Papaw. I thought he was going to cry, he thought it was so beautiful. I sang a little back up harmony with Casey…I think we were in the little dining room. I will never be able to hear that song and not think of that moment. I pray it ends up on the album.

    • Laura Patterson says:

      Thank you for sharing this heartwarming story with us – knowing that Casey sang this song with you to his Papaw is very sweet indeed. I love Casey and just the acoustic guitar because it’s so bare and yet so wonderful all at the same time. What a talent and what a blessing to know Casey James. You must be beyond proud of him.

    • Thank you for that story! Seems like everyone share’s Papaw’s sentiment about that song and, like you, want it to be on his debut!

    • jennifer bussone says:

      Debra, That was my favorite song of the whole set. Simply beautiful. Brilliantly written. I had chill bumps the whole time. I hope it ends up on the cd as well. It makes me well up to picture Casey and you playing and singing to Paw paw. Love to you all.

    • Patti says:

      Thanks for sharing that Debra. 🙂 I hope it ends up on his CD too. There are soooo many great songs we have heard, I love all of them. I know it will be hard to choose, but I do hope “Show Me a Bridge” and “I Lied” make it.

    • MNCyn says:

      Sounds like Papaw held back tears …. I have to admit I didn’t when I read this, Debra. So touching. Thank you so much for sharing this story. That song will forever be a little bit more special than all the rest with that image attached to it.

      • Langley says:

        Thank you, Debra, for sharing that touching story with us, and thank you, Casey, for writing the amazing song, “Show Me A Bridge”! I, too, hope it gets on his CD, because it’s my favorite song so far. (-: And thank you, SHARI, for the tireless work you do to keep us all happy and full of “Casey-ness”. (-:

    • NYCJfan says:

      Thank you for sharing that special moment here, Debra. What a beautiful memory to have! That song is fantastic!

    • Aunt Sherry says:

      Woo hoo! He finally played it (Show Me A Bridge) in public!!! Deb and I flipped over it and kept wanting him to do it live. So glad he finally shared..think it’s definitely one of his best. Sometimes family can be objective – ha!
      And thanks again Shari for all you do…you are very much appreciated!

  14. Carol says:

    OK – I feel like Ellen and Kara here but………..I just love acoustic Casey! Just the man and his guitar! I don’t need any other distractions. (Although the big video screen was NICE!)

  15. Chris Bejna says:

    Thank you for sharing that special moment with us Bybee….it makes the song that much more beautiful (if that’s possible). Especially with you singing back up harmonies!! Wishing we could of heard that version!!! Really loving all the new stuff…just so excited for that CD !!! Shari, you are the greatest thanks so much for all you do for us Casey fans…of course along with Glenda, and Mickey too… Love all ya ladies !!!!!

  16. Eilee25 says:

    Shari, I also want to thank you for all that you do !! I have no idea how you pull it all together but I was definitely in “Casey Heaven” yesterday thanks to all the vids and photos!! Love all the new songs!

  17. MNPeach says:

    Shari, I’d like to add my thanks as well. Your blog is the first thing I check when I get on the comps each day. (OK, several times each day). You always seem to express perfectly what I feel. Thank you.
    Debra, it was very kind of you to give us that picture of Casey singing to his Papaw with you adding backup. It’s a lovely image that will be with us whenever we hear that song. I hope we hear it a lot. It is beautiful.
    And, of course, thanks to all the people who are generous with their photos and vids. It is so exciting to feel as though we were there.
    MNPeach

  18. Katy7540 says:

    Thanks Shari for keeping Casey fans up to date! You are phenomenal! Especially enjoy hearing Casey do some new music, and the close-up on the big screen videos are the best. The closer to Casey the camera goes, the better. Dont really care to see disinterested fans talking and looking the other way during a performance. Casey looks and sounds great, and just stuns me the way he plays the guitar! Wow!

  19. NORLELA says:

    Yes, agreed. It’s always satisfied me with casey’s acoustic renditions that I can hear his beautiful voice and feel his charismatic deeply inside. I really love this guy and his guitar.

  20. daydreaminmeme says:

    Shari, this blog has been a real source of enjoyment for me and has lifted my spirits every time I’ve read it…thank you SO very much for all you do for us!

    Debra, I SO love knowing that Casey sang Show Me a Bridge for his PawPaw, with you singing harmony…that makes my heart cry happy tears 🙂

    I love EVERYTHING Casey sings and just can’t wait for his cd to be released…maybe they should make it a double cd, since ALL of Casey’s songs are so amazing!

    • I’m so glad to hear that!! I’ll keep getting you great stuff to look at and listen to and you keep working on getting better! “Solo tewer” is getting closer!!

  21. linda says:

    I’m not a music critic but drive,let’s don’t call it a night are very good the other songs really sounded too much alike.just to slow.the crowds seem to love fast up beat music.
    what happened to all the songs that people wrote or co wrote with him?I’ve followed
    Caseys music since idol and loved all of the songs he did on the show I want more songs with the rock egde to them.or at least fast and fun country.remember alotta people can do other bands songs but they can’t come up with there own hit songs.

    • Boudica says:

      I think the sings sounded slow because it was an acoustic concert and because Casey was playing alone. For instance I think I lied might actually be a faster song with a whole band. But Casey has already debuted a few other more rocking songs.

      Casey sounded great, I love acoustic Casey. 🙂

  22. Karen says:

    I thought that Casey sounded beautiful and loved all of the songs that he sang. But, I have to say I that I really love “Show me a Bridge”. What a beautiful story behind it and such a heartfelt, beautiful song!
    Thanks again Shari, for all that you do! 🙂

  23. NYCJfan says:

    Thank you for posting these! Love the new songs! 🙂

  24. Genilu says:

    Heart songs such as “Show Me A Bridge” are the ones that make me buy an album. I hope Casey keeps writing this kind of song, since he sings them so passionately. I can picture him singing this one on the “Opry”.

Leave a Reply

