Casey James Live at Whiskey Tango in Kansas City, Missouri

Casey James took the stage tonight at Whiskey Tango in Kansas City, MO, a venue described as the midwest’s largest entertainment complex featuring country music, for a “birthday bash,” sponsored by radio station Q104.  The set list for tonight was seven songs:  Long Tall Texan, Liza Jane, Bulletproof, ‘Til My Guitar, Let’s Don’t Call it a Night, Drive and Done Made Up My Mind.

The first videos of Casey’s set come courtesy of LaDonna Dennis: 

Liza Jane (courtesy of CJFan_Amber):  

Drive (thanks CJFan_Amber): 

Casey’s complete set was also captured by KCJewel:

Long Tall Texan:

Liza Jane: 

Bulletproof:

‘Til My Guitar:

Let’s Don’t Call it a Night:  

Drive:

Done Made up My Mind:

The Grain Valley Pointe wrote a positive review of Casey’s set, saying:

Former American Idol contestant Casey James (CaseyEJames.com) showed what he’s made of at Whiskey Tango, 401 E. South Outer Belt Rd., Grain Valley Friday night, with several original numbers including “Bulletproof”, co-written by Delbert McClinton, and the guitar-shredding bluesy number “Drive”, that is sure to be destined for radios soon.

Since he was the first of many acts playing that night, it’s nice to see someone impressed enough with his set to write about it.  “Guitar-shredding bluesy” — yeah, that sounds like Casey.

Here was the first audio of Casey’s show tonight at Whiskey Tango.  During the concert, fans gathered in the Live Chat Room and on their phones to listen to and share Casey’s concert with the fans who were there.  Thanks to Karen Smith and her friend Linda Worker for getting the entire set for us:  Audio

Casey James with Linda Worker and Karen Smith

Casey’s set was a bit longer than it was for the Sugarland dates, thirty minutes instead of twenty, and he played a new song tonight called Liza Jane, which was recorded previously by Vince Gill.  There were many die hard Casey fans in attendance and they took photos and videos which they have been kind enough to share with us.

Pics with Fans

Casey & LaDonna (LDG_lildrumgirl)

 Being the selfless, giving lady that she is, LaDonna made sure to get hugs for everyone.  The list was long. Thank you LaDonna.

LaDonna & Casey huggin' it out.

She was getting hugs for many people…pretty much turned into a “hold”.  Again, thanks for doing that.  I know it must have been hard on you.

No, wait Casey, there's still at least 20 more hugs I promised to my friends that I'd pass on to you. I take my promises very seriously...no, hang on. I've never broken a promise....almost there, I'm a woman of my word.

Amber (CJFan_Amber), Casey & LaDonna (LDG_lildrumgirl)

Casey James and Amber Caro

Kathy Rainwater wrote about her experience at the concert on her blog which you can read here.  She also shared these pictures:

After the concert, photo by Kathy Rainwater

.

Casey James and Karen Smith

 Thanks to Karen Smith for the following additional pictures:

Thanks to Amber for the following photo:

Great recap from North Country Gal, posted on Castrocopia, check it out here.  Here are some of her photos:

Photo below from idolforums

Photo by Kittychat309

 

Photos of Casey at Whiskey Tango, courtesy of  KCJewel.  Check out her blog, here:

 Casey playing pool at Whiskey Tango, by Jewel: ” He played pool like no one was watching and all eyes were on HIM!!!”


For more pics (Casey performing) from Facebook, click here

There was a marriage proposal during Casey’s performance (Let’s Don’t Call It a Night), thanks to Amber for posting this on youtube.


This entry was posted in Casey James, Live Performances, Music, News, Photos, photos, Reviews, Tour, Videos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Casey James Live at Whiskey Tango in Kansas City, Missouri

  1. C.L. says:

    I will be a Casey James admirer for many years to come. Too bad I live so far away from Kansas City, but I can still look forward to his CD release at a later late, and it will be worth the wait.
    Thank you again Casey blogger and writer. You are an angel.
    Whenever I watch American Idol, I always make comparisons of the contestants ( in my mind) to Casey James, however I believe CJ is a hard act to follow. The thing about him is that he is a well-rounded, cross genre singer and musician with a great spirit, great values, work ethic, patience, kindness, and love for all.

  2. waternymf says:

    just testing

  3. Polinka____ says:

    The audio is great Shari !!!
    Thank you and all the girls that made it possible for all of us to listen live !!!!

  4. Polinka____ says:

    Thanks LaDonna… this is great !!! 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing 🙂 !

  5. MaryS-NJ says:

    Thanks to LaDonna for the audio and video! Did a hear a new song between Long Tall Texan and Bulletproof?

  6. C.L. says:

    I love Casey’s style. I hope his CD will be advertised and be sold in Canada. From a bird’s eye view of his performances from the non produced videos and audios, and hearing the rather obscured sound audio and still really enjoying it immensely, it will only be better with more clear audio on his CD.

  7. Patty Wilkins says:

    LaDonna, you are so much fun! 🙂 Thank you for sharing your Casey videos and photos. Girl, I’m so happy you received dozens of Casey hugs, I’m just a bit suspicious about your getting the extra hugs for your friends. Hmm… LOL

    Thanks for the laughs!

    Patty 🙂

  8. M.D. says:

    Casey’s guitar playing in the beginning of his song, “Drive”, sounds just like the engine of a car starting up. Amazing!!!

  9. Cynthia says:

    I’ll have to listen for that car starting sound, boy I sure do like Done Made Up My Mind, I wonder if it is about his road to playing music to the masses. Sounds fabulous, wish I could understand the words better. It will be great when the CD comes out and we can really hear it and not all those screaming women, although I don’t blame them, I’m sure I’d be doing some screaming too.

  10. Karen Smith from Hillsboro says:

    Just got back from Kansas City. I met ncountrygirl and artistatheart as soon as we got to the hotel, two beautiful souls I might add. The doors were to open at 5:30 but Casey was still in soundcheck so the line grew and we were finally allowed to enter at around 6:00. I got to give LDG-lildrummergirl (LaDonna) those hugs I promised, met Amber, Jen Lloyd and Kellie James and had visited with Kraina (Kathy) outside while we were waiting. By the time I found our reserved table and got me and my scooter (for my cast) settled, it was 6:20. I knew I needed to call Shari for the audio-cast at 6:30. I wanted so badly to get Casey to come on and say hi to his twitter family. We spotted him in the back playing pool and since I was immobile, my friend Linda went back to take some pictures and she asked his manager, Todd, if Casey could come to the table to talk on the phone. Please forgive us, Shari, but we did a little name-dropping. Linda told him that I was on the phone with you and could not get around because of my cast. She asked Casey if he would come say hi, at least, and he said “Absolutely”. By that time they were whisking him up to perform so I was a little disappointed. After his set, he started signing autographs and taking pictures. So I asked Linda if she would take the Christmas card I had designed for Glenda’s card exchange up to have him sign it. She went up and got in the back of the line and Todd spotted her and told her how sorry he was that Casey could not make it to our table while I was on the conference call but that he would make sure that Casey came to see me. We sat another couple of hours and I had given up all hope of getting that hug. The crowd was shoulder to shoulder and out of nowhere, through the crowd, appears Todd and Casey, right up to our table. I gave him the biggest hug and told him how much I loved him, sobbing like a baby..and I couldn’t thank Todd enough. We chatted a minute and Casey commented on my cast and signed my card with “Thank you so much and get well soon”. We got our pictures and by that time, the people around us started realizing who he was so everyone was wanting pictures. The price of fame must be overwhelming. You’ve heard this over and over…he is younger looking and more beautiful in person than any picture can capture. He is as sweet and humble as you would imagine. I will never EVER forget that meeting. Thank you, Shari. If Linda had not mentioned your name, it may have never happened.

    • Laura Patterson says:

      So happy for you Karen!! Thanks for sharing.

    • Karen, I cannot tell you how happy I am for you!! Casey once told me he wanted to have a team around him that offered a “united front of goodness,” and it sure seems that he’s accomplished that. So glad Todd took care of you! Thank you and Linda so much for sharing the night with the rest of Casey’s fans!

      –Shari

  11. CJFan_Amber says:

    Goodness! Those screaming girls need to get it under control 🙂

  12. Bybee D James says:

    Ehh…girls have been screaming for a while now. In the 40’s, it was “Frankie!”, in the 50’s it was Elvis, in 65 it was “Beatlemania”, in 68 it was Elvis again, 70’s girls were gaga over Robert Plant’s hair, 80’s girls were screaming over Poison (Bret Michael), 90’s girls were screaming for Chris Cornell. Of course the list isn’t exclusive…just examples. It appears Casey is officially on the list of “Dudes that Swoon”. Interesting phenomena to observe as his mother. It makes me smile.

    • Karen Smith from Hillsboro says:

      Debra…when my mom was 65, Alan Jackson came on the scene and she went nuts. We teased her so much. In one of Casey’s yellow notes, he mentioned he had just met Alan Jackson. It made me cry and I wrote to him telling him that one of these days, some young artist is going to run into him in a hallway and say, “Guess what…I just met Casey James”. Now I’m 63 and my kids are teasing me. We all share in your pride.

    • CJFAN_Amber says:

      You are the best momma ever Debra!! I had to say something about those screaming girls because I was one of them 🙂 We had a blast in Kansas City and I know I will be a screaming Casey fan forever!

    • Laura Patterson says:

      I’m glad you smile at the thought of all these women swooning over Casey. It’s a beautiful thing to have women so moved by him that we feel we’re 25 all over again!! I think that’s why Casey has so many “mature” fans as well as young ones.

      I wish Casey the best in his career and personal life. You did a fantastic job raising both your sons Mama James! We all thank you for that!!

  13. daydreaminmeme says:

    Yes, Debra, Casey IS swoonalicious! but, like his beloved Momma, he is just as beautiful on the inside as he is on the outside…thank YOU for that!

    Much love,
    Meme

  14. Katy7540 says:

    I just heard Casey do “Liza Jane”but the audio wasnt the best. Does anyone have a better version of a video of Casey singing “Liza Jane” please? Love Casey James no matter what he sings!

  15. Alexis Dunn says:

    Bybee he makes me scream too. Lol

  16. LaDonna Ray Dennis says:

    It was looooong overdue!!! I finally got to see Bubba!!  When I spoke to him…I felt like I was talking with an old friend! He’s a nice and sweet as can be! He was by far…the best performer of the night!! I had a great time. I also got EVERYONE a *hug*  I told Casey that y’all sent hugs and your support like I promised I would do!! I’m so glad I was able to meet him and hear him live! I can say…it made want to get up and jam with him!! I can’t help it….love those drums!!! 

  17. LaDonna Ray Dennis says:

    Y’all are so welcome!!! I’m glad I could share my videos and pictures with all of you!! I am glad I got to meet everyone that came in to see Casey also!! Momma James….I was one of those LOUD screaming girls!  I had to let him know we were supportin him! Gotta show my love and support!! 

  18. Cynthia says:

    Love those close up videos, you can really hear him play. Love the complex intricacies.

  19. Karen says:

    I’m sure if I was at one of Casey’s shows, I would be making some noise too! 🙂
    But not just for his looks (which he has plenty of ) but for how great he sounds too. Oh, and on top of all that, he is so sweet and such a nice down to earth guy.

  20. Outi says:

    Thank you for this. So good, so full of Casey 🙂

  21. Katy7540 says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting another video of Liza Jane. Love it!!!!!!

  22. Katy7540 says:

    Little Liza Jane by Vince Gill

    You’ve got my number
    You’ve got my name
    So why don’t you call me
    Little Liza Jane

    You’ve got that body
    You’ve got that frame
    So why don’t you call me
    Little Liza Jane

    Girl I got it bad for you
    There ain’t nothin’ I won’t do
    Just one kiss and I’ll never be the same
    Little Liza Jane, oh little Liza Jane

    Now you’ve heard my story
    You’ve got to know my name
    So why don’t you call me
    Little Liza Jane

    You’ve got my number
    You’ve got my name
    So why don’t you call me
    Little Liza Jane

  23. Pingback: Fans Cannot Get Enough of Casey James | The Casey James Blog

  24. Pingback: Ladonna ray | Fotogreen

Leave a Reply

